Skip to content

Episode 5 – A Cup of Tea

July 26, 2011

Welcome to Episode 5 of Dining with Druids! We’re your hosts, Ali and Jeff Lilly.

In tonight’s episode, “A Cup of Tea,” Ali and Jeff tread some murky waters, exploring topics of horror, disgust, Buddhism, beauty, fundamentalism, nationalism and spiritual warfare. Things get sticky, Ali confuses the Arctic with Antarctica, and Jeff continues to be sensible and soft-spoken (so turn your iPods up to eleven!). The key phrase to remember for this episode, and where the title of this post comes from, is the Buddhist proverb:

“Drinking a cup of tea, I stop the war.”

Mentioned in tonight’s episode:

Ali also wrote a follow-up/prequel essay, “I am a Conscientious Objector in the Spiritual War” that listeners might be interested in checking out.

As always, thanks for listening, and join us next time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Soliwo permalink
    July 30, 2011 11:43 am

    Hey. This the first episode I listened to. I liked it, but I would have to say that the sound level in general is very low. Yes Jeff should be closer to the microphone, but it is not just that. Even with ear-plugs I need to put audio levels on max, Without them I do not hear anything.

    I discovered this podcast through Standing Stone and Garden Gate so you are right to thank them. Might I be your first listener from Europe?

    • August 1, 2011 10:07 am

      Thanks for the comment, Soliwo! And yes, I think you might just be our first listener in Europe. 🙂

      As for the sound – several others have mentioned this problem. I’m not sure if there’s much we can do on our end, besides buying better equipment (which, with a wedding coming up is pretty much out of the cards right now). I’ve played with various settings in the hopes of fixing the problem, but folks are still telling us the sound is low. I’ll keep working at it, though, so keep the comments coming and if you hear one episode where the volume seems much better than the rest, please please let me know! (The volume sounds fine on both of our laptops, with or without earbuds, so it’s hard for us to gauge how it well sound for others – so listener feedback is very welcome! :))

      • Soliwo permalink
        August 3, 2011 9:50 am

        The quality is actually pretty good apart from it being low! I’ll manage fine 😉

      • August 3, 2011 11:02 am

        Soliwo, I think I’ve actually discovered a setting adjustment I can make to help increase the volume, but I won’t know until we try it. The next two weeks’ episodes were recorded on Jeff’s iPhone while we were driving last weekend, but when we record Episode 8, I’d love it if you’d stop by again and let me know if the volume issue seems at all improved! 🙂

  2. Soliwo permalink
    July 30, 2011 1:18 pm

    I loved your comment to the Columbia story. I really get the impression a lot of Americans (including pagans) know very little of world history. Almost every northern European country has been personified into a female goddess-like figure for nationalistic purposes.

  3. Finn permalink
    August 12, 2011 11:33 pm

    *waves the Brighid flag*

    Erm. Yeah. That’s all.

    **Apologies for being stupidly late in listening to this. Sorry. 😦

    • August 13, 2011 9:55 am

      No apologies necessary whatsoever! 🙂 (It’s my Flamekeeping shift today, so somehow appropriate a fellow Cill member stopped by to say hi!)

Leave a Reply

